Saturday, 25 October 2014

Cold, cold heart - Wolf eyes, you're staring

Hailing from London and Chichester, trio Cold, cold heart would at first glance appear to be cut from the same instrumental post-rock cloth as Mogwai and Maybeshewill. Whilst fans of those bands will undoubtedly find something to love about their latest track, "Wolf eyes, you're staring", there's enough going on to distinguish them from their peers.

For a start, the band don't have a drummer or percussionist, giving the band a more delicate, sparser sound. It also means that they avoid the tried-and-tested trick of the 'build-build-build-boom' song structure that underpins a large chunk of the post-rock back catalogue, instead creating a song that ebbs and flows over it's 5 1/2 minute running time. "Wolf eyes, you're staring" is a stunningly beautiful piece of music.

"Wolf eyes, you're staring" is due to feature on the debut album of Cold, cold heart, which is due to be released in the spring.

Friday, 24 October 2014

Asylums - I've Seen Your Face in a Music Magazine

Who would have thought that such great rock music could come from a band from Southend-On-Sea? David Rowntree-approved 4-piece Asylums are about to support The Vaselines on a couple of dates next month, and preceding that they are releasing a new single, "I've Seen Your Face In a Music Magazine." The song is a sub-150 second blast of spunky goodness, combining elements of Britpop and 90s American rock to create something both in-your-face, and yet decidedly irresistible.

"I've Seen Your Face in a Music Magazine" will be released on October 27th.

Wednesday, 22 October 2014

Joy Surrender - Escape

Joy Surrender is the solo project of Winchester based musician Tristan Irvine, who amongst other things has composed music for various media. Although you could probably guess that from his debut single, which has something of a cinematic feel to it.

Tristan describes the sound that he was trying to achieve on "Escape" as 'orchestronica', in that it features layers and layers of keyboard and electronic sounds arranged in an almost symphonic fashion. It may be a slightly grandiose descriptor, but there's no denying that it isn't incredibly effective. It's a rousing, expansive sounding track which feels as if it is going to completely envelop you in pure, blissful noise.

If TV music supervisors ever get bored of using "Hoppipolla" as the soundtrack of their life-affirming montages of wildlife and the natural world in documentaries, they'll have a rather suitable replacement in "Escape". Joy Surrender may be on to a good thing with this 'orchestronica' thingy.

"Escape" is available to download for free.

Tuesday, 21 October 2014

Sykes - Gold Dust E.P

London trio Sykes came to my attention a few months ago after the people at Fresh on The Net made one of their tracks a weekly fresh favourite. I'd meant to give them a bit of blog loving at the time, but never got around to it. But never to fear, for the band have just released a new E.P, "Gold Dust", which gives us the perfect opportunity to introduce you to this wonderful band.

To start with, the title track is something special indeed. It's a fantastic alternative pop track with a real heart that fans of Chvrches will completely lap up. I'd said back in July that if Ellie Goulding released this track as her new single, it would spend weeks on end at #1, and three months later I still stand by that assessment. 

The rest of the E.P doesn't match up to the title track, although there are some songs worth listening to. "Anybody Out There" sounds like a more chilled out La Roux, and the guitar work at the end of "Away She Goes" is rather impressive. 

"Gold Dust" offers a decent introduction to the music of Sykes, and if they can deliver more pop gems like the title track, then they are going to be a very interesting prospect going forward.

The "Gold Dust" E.P is out now.

Saturday, 18 October 2014

Kassassin Street - Centre Straight Atom

We first became aware of Portsmouth based 5-piece Kassassin Street back in June through their mystical, psychedelic single "The Royal Handkerchief Ballet". Having spent the summer honing their craft whilst playing at Isle of Wight Festival, Bestival, and other non-island related gigs, the band have announced the release of a brand new single, and it's a real corker indeed.

"Centre Straight Atom" tones down the more overt psychedelic sounds of their last single, and replaces it with a more electronic and, dare I say it, radio-friendly, core. It mixes electronic verses with powerful, heavy yet poppy rock guitars on its chorus to create something rather delicious indeed. Plus, it reminds us a little of local electro-rockers Not Squares, which is definitely no bad thing. Kassassin Street set the bar quite high with "The Royal Handkerchief Ballet", so it's great that the band have managed to well and truly smash that benchmark.

And on a final note, in our review of their last single, we had suggested that the band had named themselves after a village in Egypt. Many thanks to Robin at Breaking More Waves (who has also written about the band) for pointing out that Kassassin Street is the name of a road in the Eastney district of Portsmouth. We guess that makes a bit more sense.

"Centre Straight Atom" will be released as a single on November 10th.